Archive | 4:50 pm

Oakland’s Zico Half Marathon- 2nd Running Event of The Year

2 Apr

Image

Image

My second running event of the year took place a couple of weeks ago in Oakland on March 23, 2013. (Oaktown is hella ghetto). I did the half marathon and I had a blast! I didnt really train much for this event but I got through it. Me and the bf stayed in Oakland’s Chinatown  (Clarion Hotel). We tried to save money by finding a hotel that was close by, decent and a bit cheaper than the Marriott. BIG MISTAKE…One word: Ghetto.What do I mean by ghetto? Well, piss drunk bums every where, abandoned building with graffiti all over it, garbage piled up high, urine smelling air…ugh, it was bad. If you’re going to do an event in Oakland, spend the extra money for a nice safe hotel . That’s one thing I’ve learned. LOL.

Race day was hectic. There were about 10,000 people…not as much porta-potties and the streets were just filthy.

First 3 Miles:  It was hard. I was tired and it was hot. I had on three shirts: a thermal, thin cotton shirt and a top layer shirt that says “runner girl”. I wanted to rip the hell outta my shirts and run naked. ugh! the torture of running in heat. Not my kinda weather.

Miles 4-10 wasnt as bad. There were some shaded areas and I was able to hide from the sun. We were greeted by local Oakland people bumpin music from their car, screamin out “good job! You got dis, baby. You got it”. People were dancing in the street, dj’s spinnin rap music…it was nice to see people coming out together, cheering us on.

Image

(im struggling here)

Miles 11-13. Im getting tired and anxious. There’s signs on the course “2 Miles” and then “1 Mile”….I kept trying to run but my feet wanted to slow down. My bf was just all smiles and giggles the whole time and that irritated the hell outta me. There were people standing outside on their balcony  sayin “you can do this. Aint nobody gonna take it away from you” and then I see runners walking with the big medal around their neck screamin “you are almost there.” Holy crap, the last mile felt like eternity. I didnt see no finish line. Where the hell was the damn finish line?

Finally….I climbed up the hill and there were balloons…and a timer…I DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wanted to cry out loud but I was so exhausted and  I didnt have any energy to. I felt proud of myself that day for being able to do it. Yes, I may not look like your average typical “runner chick” but shit, give a chubby girl credit for attempting to run. We all gotta start somewhere. Yes, I got chipmunk cheeks. LOL

Image

I am more than ever determined to do more running events. I think I may have found my one true passion: running!!!!!